Aqua C Remora question.

jsteph24

I bought the aqua c remora skimmer for my 55 gallon last week and I have a question. I have the collection cup as high as it will go so that the rubberband thing is touching the drain fitting. It is still taking out a ton of water though. I went to bed last night and woke up to find that the gallon jug I had at the end of the hose was filled up with slightly dirty looking water. Isn't this thing supposed to take off foam? I have never had a skimmer so I am not sure. It just seems like it is taking a lot of water out of my tank. Any thoughts?

buffett

i am no expert but ive read that it takes a few days to really break in, and that sometimes the skim is more liquid than foam, but hopefully someone with more knowledge with give you some advice on it because thats the skimmer im getting soon

happyhourh

I have mine set up where there is about 2.5 inches of the clear collection cup showing. They do take a few days to break in and you can tweak the leveling screws on the bottom to get better results.
When the collection cup is all the way down you will get a wetter skimmate the higher you raise it the more "foamy" the skimmate gets.
Im not sure what the hose you are talking about is?

dlee

I concur with happyhourh....lower the rubberband so that the collection cup rests higher. I keep my rubberband at 2 or 3 inches below the top

Originally Posted by jsteph24
I bought the aqua c remora skimmer for my 55 gallon last week and I have a question. I have the collection cup as high as it will go so that the rubberband thing is touching the drain fitting. It is still taking out a ton of water though. I went to bed last night and woke up to find that the gallon jug I had at the end of the hose was filled up with slightly dirty looking water. Isn't this thing supposed to take off foam? I have never had a skimmer so I am not sure. It just seems like it is taking a lot of water out of my tank. Any thoughts?