Baby Shark Help

crofty

About 5 weeks ago I wanted a Banded shark in my tank, I did not have the $110 the store was selling them for, So I opted for a Shark Egg Embryo for $20... well Saturday I woke up and the egg hatched...I now have a 6 inch brown and white banded shark...he is very timid now, I have him separated from my other fish and I have seen him eating when I feed him...he is not swimming around too much yet. Any of you experts out there have any advice for me with this fish...I have a 55 gallon tank with a Tang, Trigger, Clown and Wrasse, no live coral, just fish. Any thing special I should feed him, I feed the others Formula One, he seems to be eating the Formula One with no problems...Any advise is appreciated..
Thanks
Bryan

nmoran

I'm no expert but heres my opinion. But I do know your going to want to get a bigger tank. He'll be okay in a 55 for a very short time, but a 55 gallon tank is way too small for that shark. I have a banded cat shark and I just feed him salmon, trout and other fish I buy at the store. And then just put vita-chem over it. I feed it every 3 days and it does very well. I think formula one is algea. Isn't it? I know they sell shark formula but my shark wouldn't touch the stuff.

jim27

$110 for a banded shark!!!! I got mine for $13 at the lfs. They eat shrimp, silversides, krill, squid, and other fish type things. Your going to need a bigger tank for it also, a 55 is way to small to keep it its entire life. I have mine in a 180 gallon and I upgrading to a 240 later this year. Also, NO TRIGGERS WITH SHARKS! The trigger will bite(and kill) the shark.

risc

Crofty: