bad batch of Instant Ocean

dingo0722

The other day I made a batch of instant ocean like I always do and I noticed the salt did not disolve like it normally does. Its now been 2 days the water is still cloudy and there are large salt granuals still on the bottom. When I stir them up with a powerhead a few hours later they settle to the bottom. The SG of the batch is 1.023 and the temp is at 75 so that is not the issue. I am suspecting the salt I got is bad.
Has anyone had this issue with Instant Ocean lately

reefnut

What kind of water are you using?? What's the alkalinity level?? How did you mix the salt in originally??
Some fokes have had bad batches so it is possible you have one. I'm assuming this is the first batch you have mixed out of the bucket??

dingo0722

The water if from my RO unit so the quality of that is not my concern. This was the first use out of the bag and when I remade the water the second time I used a different salt.

coopersx

I am a newbie. My FOWLR is a little more then 2 mo. old. I added Instant Ocean directly to the water and cycled the salt in my tank for 3 weeks before adding live rock. Some of the salt never disolved and settled at the bottom of the tank. It was a small amount (but enough of a dusting to notice). After stirrring this undissolved white particulate it would imediately return. The water was *Never* cloudy though. I added 15 lbs of salt to a 54 gallon tank. I use well water which is Acidic, zero phosphate, zero nitrate, zero amonia. Alkalinity has not been tested for the tap water but is fine with seasoned water ( I do not remember the parameters of my test kit but this is where my alkalinity stands after adding salt).