Bad Situation Please Help

brendac

I really need some help on how to maintain my aquarium... Im sorry it seems like I do post alot lately but Im new to this saltwater thing and need some help. We started out with a 30g FOWLR and after about 1 month my husband wanted a 125g FOWLR... So with his bright idea went and bought one 1 week ago knowing that I would need to ask alot of questions here. First off we filled the whole thing with RO water... have a cascade canister on it and using the spray bar instead of the straight flow... One Maxi-Jet 1200 powerhead and he is getting another one like this one... putting one on each end of that aquarium. I get very upset and afraid that this thing will turn cloudy on me sooner or later if I dont learn fast. Right now it is clear and I dont think it has even started a cycle yet(nothing in it so I dont believe my readings are gonna go hay wire) I know this much and a few other things but how in the world can I get an empty aquarium to start a cycle?? I heard to feed an empty aquarium and live rock, not sure if I have enough live rock to get it started. So how can I get it going? It was all filled as of last night and the thing is clear. If its food I need to cycle it with... how many times aday should I do this and can I cycle it with Tropical Flakes? Also please list what all my test kit readings should be when its all done cycling(cycling is the spooky part) While its cycling I dont think I should add any chemicals to it to help with the readings... Just let it go right? I know when its done there will be no ammonia and no nitrite and no nitrate and my PH should be 8.0 to 8.4 I just dont know how to start the cycle without adding fish and I will not go killing fish like that. How many days about after a tank has been running does it take to start the cycle? Maybe it has not been long enough... today is only the 2nd day it has been running. anyways I appreciate everyones help. And please list the test kits and readings I should