beginner to saltwater

catfishcorey

Ok my question to you guys/girls is that i want to set up a saltwater aquarium 10 gallon, but i really havent done anything with saltwater so im a total newbie. My parents are completely againist it so currently im attempting to talk them into as usually once they say something thats the end of it, yet im determened. Any tips on this ^ is greatly appcieated! This reason they say this is due to them once having saltwater yet have problems with it. Ok , so back to the tank... lets start with what i have.
10 gallon aquarium kit includues
the stock hang on back filter for a 10 gallon
heater
stock lights ( can i upgrade the wattage? ) Lights strips btw not the bulbs
i do have another filter if needed? with a spray bar for current
items know needed
live sand
salt stuff
live rock
possibly some base rock if cheeper?
possibly a power head for even more current?
NOTE: Am on a stict budget because i cant work yet so of course minumum income for cutting grass $20 dollars a week so buying as i need or can afford
I am trying to acomplish a tank with 2 clownfish a shrimp some crabs snails easy to mantain coral nothing major like sps just low light coral mushrooms polyps soft coral stuff like that. I want a reef but not over the top stuff just basic and easy to mantain. And not overly EXPENSIVE!!!
Any tips please help ty

btldreef

Welcome.
Any idea what type of tank you have? "Stock" can mean different things depending on the brand and model. It's really important to know what type of filtration you're working with exactly, because some just don't work well for saltwater. Small tanks can get dirty quickly, so a good filtration and good maintenance habits are key.