Best Setup?

the puerco

I want to set up a new tank And set it as a living reef with some fish and some invertebrate species .. 75 GL or 100 GL... I need to know in your expert opinion what is a good filter,Skimmer Lights ETC for this set up... I am reading some Books and also going thru this message board but i still do not know what is best and more "Maintenance Free" to say and as a novice i want to make sure i do not throw my money away... THanks for the advice.:confused:

tlk

Not sure what you are asking for based on the poll you set up. Are you asking for the BEST brand to buy or the most important piece of equipment? I don't the way you have your poll set up will give you the answers you are looking for.

zanemoseley

well you can start off with not so much lighting and just have inverts, fish and Live rock and upgrade lighting later to add corals, a skimmer is very important on a reef tank so plan on spending about $200 on one wether it be in sump or hang on back, circulation is also very important in a reef tank get several maxijets and they should do the job well, If you get enough live rock and live sand you should be able to keep your tank without using any kind of power filter I'd say about 1.5 pounds per gallon of fiji or something like it, also if you don't have the money to do a 75 right I'd downsize and do a smaller take best as possible, so to answer you question not one is more important than the other so just but as you go and do it right the first time

E

elan

i think you need to first figure out what you want in your tank (FOWLR, REEF, Just Fish, Species, etc) and then figure out what is best to keep those.
Very hard to be general in this answer.
if FOWLR, then filter
if Reef, then lights
if Species, then depends on what you get