bio balls in reef

freddy949

hi
i am still new to this hobby but when i was brand new to it a couple of months ago, some guy told me that bio balls were bad in a reef tank cuz something about ariated bacteria. so i have a 55 gal acurlic tank with built in filer chamber in he back were bio balls used to be. i toook them out but now my problem is that the water level in the back sank and were it used to be a trickel there now is a 6 inch niagra falls in living room. so my questions is are bio balls really bad for the reef? and what are some good ways to silence waterfalls.
thanks

J

jupoc911

no they are not bad. they can eventually cause elevations in nitrates as they do tend to build up on detritus. Y don't you just use live rock back there instead?

T

thomas712

Now I wonder why anyone would suggest live rock as a replacement for bio balls. Wouldn't the live rock just collect detritus as well? I think so. Will they be as efficiant as bio balls? I don't think so. Will the live rock be able to oxygenate the water like bio balls? Nope. Splitting the water up and creating the aerobic oxygenated atmosphere is what they do best, and by doing this they quickly breakdown ammonia and nitrItes into nitrates. No matter what you put in there you will wind up with nitrates if you don't clean it once in a while.
Lets see what else can you put in there that will absolutly not collect any detritus and stay clean forever.....Nothing I can think of.., and if you are talking about a small space of bio balls and change it for rocks then how are you going to keep them clean before they turn into rock like in a river bed with hair algae or scum from forming on them with out any type of cleanup crew to clean them.
Whats so hard about taking the bio balls out once a month and rinsing them in water that you take out of the main for a water change? Are folks that lazy, yes absolutly they are.
Its your tank and its your choice.
1. If you have the bio balls already then use them