books

solarris

I've seen several people mention the book "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist" and was wondering how detailed this book is. Does it explain enough for a newbie to be able to set up a tank with a refugium and get everything started? Ever since I bought a book the lfs recomended and saw how horrible the advice in there was I've been kind of skeptical about books. That book actually said that you should take your live rock when it comes in and soak it in fresh water for 24 hours then let it air dry and if it still smelled like chlorine repeat this until the chlorine smell was gone. It also talked in depth about under gravel filters and their benefits and never once mentioned sumps or refugiums. Luckily, even though I'm a complete beginner in this, I knew enough to throw that book out immediately.

earlybird

I recently finished that book. It took me a little over a week and a half. I read it cover to cover and couldn't put it down. You will learn a lot and it will raise a lot of questions to help you in your research to determine what route you'd like to go.

shogun323

Honestly, the conscientous marine aquariast is an invaluable tool for the newb. It covers everything from tank selection, filtration, aquascaping, water chemistry and touches on fish selection as well. I give it 2 thumbs up!

craig7220

That book "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist" is probably one of the most comprehensive books that I've read. One thing I've learned over the years is you need to watch the published date on the books. Alot has changed in this hobby over the years. When I first started with SW 30 plus years ago, the undergravel filter was the best way to go and protein skimmers was unheard of. Not so now... Also one of the best places to ask questions and get answers is this forum.