bought my first coral and.........

rayraypico

I am having a little problem. The guy at the lfs said it is one of the easier corals to maintain. Sorry not sure of the name of it (picked it out cause it looked good) but it looked like a coral with green grassy hands that sway around in the current. someone with lots of experience in corals maybe able to turn that discription into something but anyway back to my problem.
After slowly acclimating the coral to the tank it took it about 1 full day to open up. It stayed open for one day and the next night I noticed it closed up again. Since last night the coral has not opened up again. I don't think this is normally but I am a real newbie with corals and I am kind of afraid of killing it. I hate to kill living things specially expensive living things.
I will supply you with all other information required all my water test do check out the only problem is I overdid it with the kalwasser and my calcium shot up to 550 but everything else is right where it needs to be. I did not overdue it with kalwasser all at once it was as always added in slowly just added to much prior to buying the coral

agro

Green star polyps? They will close up for a few days every now and then for no apparent reason. Calcium at 550 shouldn't be a problem unless your kH is out of whack too.

dburr

Post a pic OR describe iy better than wavy hands. I.E. is it on a stalk, a leather, does it grow by sending out runners, how tall, is any of it hard, ....ect....

the claw

Are we talking Xenia here. It probably was a goniophora compliments of the LFS. We need a description...............

nm reef

I don't intend to flame or be negative in any way...but you really should have a general idea of exactly what you are adding prior to purchasing it.