Brittlestars/Serpentstars

ophiura

Hi All,
Some time ago I intended to write a long thread on brittlestars, similar to my posts on seastars (linked from the archives)
Seastars
Anyway, I didn't do it

But it is better late than never...here is the Invert of the Month, the ophiuroids!

[hr]
For those of you who have known me awhile, you will likely remember that though I am trained as an invertebrate zoologist my primary focus of expertise is on the ophiuroid, or brittlestar, echinoderms.
These I studied for more years than I care to remember. However, it is the hobby that gave me an opportunity to study them alive.
The Ophiuroidea is a class in the Phylum Echinodermata (meaning "spiny skinned"). Their relatives include seastars, sea urchins, sea cucumbers and sea lilies, along with a huge number of now extinct classes. All echinoderms share some key characteristics which, in the interest of time, I won't cover here.
But let me say they are really fricken cool. They are widely studied by developmental biologists, immunologists and even mechanical engineers, intrigued by some of the properties of their connective tissue. Those interested in stem cells often study echinoderms because of their ability to regenerate lost limbs and organs - a sure sign of stem cells activity.
The class name Ophiuroidea means "serpent like," and surely you can see the origin of one of their common names. Serpentstar refers to the snake like motion of their arms. Another common name for the same animals are brittlestars, and this refers to a unique ability. Ophiuroids have the ability to autonomize, or break off parts of their body (specifically the arms) as defensive measures. They will then regenerate the part that was lost. This serves basically to confuse or distract a predator while the brittlestar escapes.