Brown Sand

jmangione

Until yesterday all was running perfectly fine all water conditions right where they should be. A friend of mine came over and suggested putting some(20 drops
?? ) Red Sea Buff Success in and i did even though i had no idea when the appropiate times to use it. I wasn't sure if it was a great idea or not considering (as far as i know) everything was good, but he seemed like it and has been at this awhile longer than myself. I came home today and found brown all over my sand. Also, one of my fish did not seem to want to eat (usually comes right up to my hands but barely chased after the food at all).
I don't know if it was what we put in the tank or something else.
Ive only had my tank for 4 weeks now so I am new at this and really have no idea if thats even bad or if its suppose to happen and i just get clean it up. Also, I have no cleaning crew at the time, is this a must get asap?
Thanks

kilhullen

The people here will probably want your paramaters asap.
I know cleaning crews are what I have been suggested to get first even before the fish, so I would think that is a must have asap.
I have been reading some posts and people are talking about brown diatoms and brown algea. Do you know which this is, or is it something else?

jmangione

Another thing,Two or 3 days ago i found what i think is a small anemone in my tank. Kind of came out of nowhere. I have a 20 gallon tank, about 12lbs of live rock, and another 2 or 3 lbs of random "coral rubble." pretty sure it traveled in on the coral but was wondering how it will do with only a 15w light on it.

1journeyman

Jman, I read your other two posts...
You've got to take a deep breath, learn about your tank, and quit doing things on impulse. If you don't your tank will be death row to anything you put in it.
NEVER
add anything that you aren't testing for. Do you have any idea what the chemicals were you put in your tank? Where they reef safe? Did you read the directions?