Buying live rock from lfs

ls244

I am a complete noob as you can tell...I was curious if I go buy live rock from the LFS do I take a container with water in it to out it in? Or does it just depend on the store or what? If someone had a link to a writeup for setting up a tank for dummies that would be great. Im am very close to getting ready to setup my tank. I just want to get everything needed so it will be done right..

noah's nemo

GO SLOW,at everything you do!Don't even plan on adding fish for at least a month or 2.As far as LR ,I got all mine from my LFS(5.99 a lb).You'll have no die off.If you take a bucket they may fill it and put the rock in for transport(mine did)Try posting future questions in the new hobbyist,your likely to get more attention there.Good luck,and keep asking questions.
Welcome to the boards,very friendly place.

alix2.0

only time ive ever gotten LR from a LFS they wrapped it in wet newspaper, bagged it in plastic, and then put it in a cardboard box. im not sure if all stores do it that way though, i dont usually go to LFS cause i dont like paying their prices.

ls244

Alright sounds good! Thank you for the quick replys! I dont plan on going fast at all. I dont want to end up losing money by going to fast.. Ive been wanting to start it up for awhile. But I just returned from vacation and didnt wanna leave a new tank for a week.

fishkid13

Originally Posted by alix2.0
http:///forum/post/3069513
only time ive ever gotten LR from a LFS they wrapped it in wet newspaper, bagged it in plastic, and then put it in a cardboard box. im not sure if all stores do it that way though, i dont usually go to LFS cause i dont like paying their prices.
I don't know about your LFS but even the cheapist website is way pricey, that that includes the shipping.

nanomantis

Personally I prefer the fact that I can inspect a specimen before I purchase it. Thats reason enough to buy from a LFS.
@OP I'd buy a good book.

ls244