Calling all reefgeeks

jhawk

Been helping my buddy get his tank straight but I'm missing something
All his fish keep getting ick and all but 2 corals are diying.His zoa and Xenia are doing great.I took his Goniopora that was not opening in his tank and put in mine and after 2 hour it was fully open.All his test read perfect so what I'm I missing only thing I can think of is that the tap water is causing the troulbe.I have him changing over to RO water but can seem to find anything..

notsonoob

Is it well water or city?
I'm sure that he is getting the chlorine out, but maybe there are some residual heavy metals in the water?

jhawk

Originally Posted by NOTSONOOB
Is it well water or city?
I'm sure that he is getting the chlorine out, but maybe there are some residual heavy metals in the water?
It's city water and we can't drink because it taste so bad.I was thinking about maybe the tap water having metals in it but I'm still learning all this stuff only been reading for 2 years and a year having a saltwater tank

grumpygils

Originally Posted by jhawk
Been helping my buddy get his tank straight but I'm missing something
All his fish keep getting ick and all but 2 corals are diying.His zoa and Xenia are doing great.I took his Goniopora that was not opening in his tank and put in mine and after 2 hour it was fully open.All his test read perfect so what I'm I missing only thing I can think of is that the tap water is causing the troulbe.I have him changing over to RO water but can seem to find anything..
Parameters? Whacky alk and Ph? Lighting? DSB? Details?
mc

wattsupdoc

You cant drink the water, but you want his fish/corals to live in it?
Do a series of large water changes with RO water. Run carbon religiously, remove the fish to hypo them and let the tank run fallow for 4 weeks minimum. He didnt ever use copper or any "reef safe" med did he? QT all new additions after the hypo/fallow treatment.

jhawk

Originally Posted by wattsupdoc