carbon question?

buckey

I runn a 50 gallon fish only tank with a trigger, tang, majestic angel and damsel. My filter is a fluval 303 and i was wondering how often i should change the carbon. Can i just rinse it with tank water or must it be new every time. Also how often would a person want to change or rince the sponge? I am pretty new to this so any info would. Maybe i shouldn't even be useing a fluval i dont know? Thank you?

bobber

Every two weeks is a good idea. Carbon cannot be rinsed. As for the sponge, I do not have a fluval, but I don't think rinsing in cold water would hurt it any, then replacing it after 4-6 months. Someone with a fluval would know better, but I hope this helps. By the way, fluvals are great filters. HTH--Bob

pufferlover

When I had my fluval I would change the carbon every month when I cleaned the cannister. Carbon looses its abilities within a few days anyway so to rinse it does nothing and to change it to often costs more money. I just always change my carbon in whatever filter I am cleaning when I clean it.

salttrigger

I got a fluval 404 and I replace the carbon every month after water change.This will help to keep the water clear.

beth

Administrator
Staff member
Canister filters are a source of nitrate accumulation if they are not cleaned often. Carbon is only good for about 2 weeks as a mechanical filter, after that your mechancial cleansing capacity is diminished and the carbon itself will turn into a biological filter---here is where the nitrates get started.
Likewise, the sponge [and any other filter media you have in there] will work fine for about 2 weeks as a mechancial filtration. After that, it starts developing into a biological filter, resulting in accumulation of higher nitrates. This being the case, I would recommend to keep your fluval solely as a mechanical filter and clean it up every 2 wks.
You can rinse out the sponge with clean tap water, squeeze it, then replace it in the canister.

oceanblue