Cardinalfish Breeding

torontofishlove

Hi All,
I am a HS student, who has just gotten into the hobby. I plan to get a pair of cardinals for my tank.
I have hired an "aquarium man" to build my tank, as I am new to the hobby.
How do you know when you are buying them that you are buying a male/female?
What type of "second tank" do you need for the babies?
For my display tank, I have UV sterilizer/protein skimmer/filter/heater/pump etc., do I need all these in the tank for the babies?
The man is charging 4000 for a 55 gallon, so I do not want to spend a lot of extra money on the second tank.
Do you need to feed them live food, or would crushed fish flakes work?
I don't really have the space to get rotifers or hatch shrimp etc.
Also could I sell them after they are born? How long do you have to "grow" them before you can sell them?
Sorry for the questions, but I think it would be awesome to breed these guys!
Andrew

sweatervest13

Quote:
Originally Posted by TorontoFishLove http:///t/395057/cardinalfish-breeding#post_3516487
Hi All,
I am a HS student, who has just gotten into the hobby. I plan to get a pair of cardinals for my tank.
I have hired an "aquarium man" to build my tank, as I am new to the hobby.
How do you know when you are buying them that you are buying a male/female?
What type of "second tank" do you need for the babies?
For my display tank, I have UV sterilizer/protein skimmer/filter/heater/pump etc., do I need all these in the tank for the babies?
The man is charging 4000 for a 55 gallon, so I do not want to spend a lot of extra money on the second tank.
Do you need to feed them live food, or would crushed fish flakes work?
I don't really have the space to get rotifers or hatch shrimp etc.
Also could I sell them after they are born? How long do you have to "grow" them before you can sell them?
Sorry for the questions, but I think it would be awesome to breed these guys!
Andrewp>