Cell Phones?

bronco300

well i'm in the market for a cell phone...apparently mine may have gotten a surge through it during friday's storms...and now it "runs" EXTREMLY HOT...will black out on me at anytime..and the power off button never works...so i'm looking at new phones...150-250$ range....I'm actually probably going to get an unlocked phone off a site and go that route...any suggestions? My provider right now is centennial...which they carry a blackberry 8100 which i like....and opinions on that phone? or a palm treo 360...I'd like something that i can play videos on if desired..but i'm not technical enough to be able to tell whats good and what is junk...is there a way to tell what phone will work with my provider, i know it needs to be 850 and 1900mhz
thanks in advance!

reefforbrains

The Moto Q line up is always good.
I upgraded a few times to new models already and really like it. No Wi-Fi and no touch screen, but I am rough on my phones so touch screens are too delecate for my tastes

bdhutier

I have a Palm Centro (w/Sprint)... good balance between a blackberry and small phone. I've had no problems yet, and had it around 8mos. My only complaint is Blazer, it sucks as a web browser. I could use mobile Opera, but I don't want to pay for Java Web Sphere. Maybe later...

alohami

I have a BlackBerry Curve that I like a lot. The battery life is good, and reception is a lot better than my old BlackBerry. The only thing is the keyboard is really small. I'm still trying to get used to it, but I don't type on it very much.
I believe you should be okay with any GSM compatible phone. As far as I know, Verizon is the one that's different and is CDMA. You'll want to double check this to be sure, but I think that's how it goes.
Also, you might be able to save a little bit by buying a locked phone and unlocking it yourself. It's really easy to do, and the service I used gives you the unlock code for $20.00. A good company to deal with for that is GSM Phone Source.