cleaner or coral banded

debbie

I would like to add a shrimp to my tank. I want something that will "not" bother my corals like my camel back did in the past and get along with the rest of the crew in the tank. Would you pick a cleaner or coral banded shrimp?

big

Debbie I am a newbie to this, but I love my little Skunk- Cleaner guy. All he ever does is be a good little guy. Reef safe all the way from what I have read...Warren

debbie

Thank you for your reply.....
I do love these shrimp too, I am leaning more towards the cleaner shrimp but would just like everyones's opinion so I get the right one.
***)

eaglephot

I got rid of my Coral Banded Shrimp. It would attack my fish! I love the cleaner shrimp. It is fun to watch the cleaner shrimp clean your fish. Its like having a doctor in your aquarium at all times and the fish know that!

qreef

Cleaner because they the only one that walk around rocks and all other shrimp are seem stay inside.

debbie

No I don't think that would be wise as my tank is a 25 gal, it sure would add some excitement though. One is enough....

rustyj

Originally Posted by Eaglephot
I got rid of my Coral Banded Shrimp. It would attack my fish! I love the cleaner shrimp. It is fun to watch the cleaner shrimp clean your fish. Its like having a doctor in your aquarium at all times and the fish know that!

I had the same problem so I put him in my tank that had a Volitan Lion fish, needless to say the next day he was gone.
The coral banded shrimp are agressive, eating snails, hermi's and other shrimp as well as trying to grab fish, and eating them if they are small enough for him to catch.

slugg3r

I have both, and if it is bothering corals you are worried about then I have more issues with my cleaner. Since the CBS mostly hides he seems to leave the coral alone.