clown fish & coral instead of a anemone

koolaid

I am sure this question has been asked before. I have been looking for a couple of days on this subject and I have seen recommendations on Sarcophyton, Lobophytum, and shrooms as an easy to care for coral and that clown have hosted. I do not want an anemone because i am a newbie and for there average life expectancy in an aquarium. I have a 30 gallon with two false percs with 30lbs of LR and 96w of PC. Does anyone have any recommendations on what I can add. I do know there is still a chance the clowns will not host but if they dont I can still enjoy the addition. If I have to add more light, I could but prefer not to. I am already planning a 75 gallon.

aarone

I havent researched at all, because you just gave me the idea. I wanted to get an anemone, but with my experiences with them in the past, i dont want to kill another one. So i just thought you had a good idea. All i have for lighting RIGHT NOW is a 33 watt NO and two 15 watt actinics. Not enough.

koolaid

I have read that there care is moderate and they are agressive and there light needed is moderate. OK acouple of questions:
When a coral is agressive is it only agressive towards other corals? Are they safe with other fish?
How much is moderate light?
When it says the care factor is moderate, what kind of care do I need to do? Now this is besides prestine water condition, frequent water changes ( 5% twice weekly with aerated RODI salt water).

flamingkingofhe

i have a maroon clown that hosts with my frogspawn
i wouldnt recommend putting a frog. in anything less than vho but that is jmo some people keep them under pc
frogs. have a vary strong sting and will harm other corals severely depending on what type of coral they need moderate to strong light and i have never seen mine sting my clown but have talked to people who claim it can happen
i have also seen clowns host with large shrooms

crazy4reefs