Clown fish question

bellanavis

I have a maroon clown fish, and today I got another maroon clown. The first one is alittle larger then the new one I got today, and he is picking on the little one. He took a bite out of his tail and everything. Will he stop picking on the smaller one, or should I give him to my friend?

steinchef

I beleive this to be common with clowns as the larger fish is making sure the small one kows who is boss. I could be wrong and i am pretty new to this too, but the larger of the two will become the dominant female, while the other will be male. Clowns are crazy because they can change their --- over their lifetime. I would see what others have to say, but i think you will be alright.

kittykitty

If a clownfish is by itself for a long period of time, it will eventually turn into a female. It is very likely that you have two females, and they will simply continue to fight until you get rid of one. Really the only way to make a "pair" of clowns is either to buy two that were already a pair, or buy two that are still juveniles and haven't changed --- yet.

marineman

i once lost a female maroon CF so i let the male grow alone for 6mths and then added a very small male that she accepted as a mate after a day or so with no major fights

bellanavis

I think the new clown is dead, I can't find him anywhere. I am so mad that I brought him home and this happened. Sorry little clown fish.

marineman

clownfish are best bought already paired up, pairing up a single clownfish in a tank is tricky but possible with some good technique and luck. you may be better off returning your clownfish to a lfs if you locate some paired up clownfish if your really wanting them badly!

shels

i would give up the new little guy to your friend or back to the LFS. I hope you find him.