ClownFish HELP!

torontofishlove

Hi Guys,
I am a high school student looking to set up a tank.
I have had numerous freshwater tanks, but this is my first saltwater tank.
So, I am hiring somebody to setup my tank, and it is turning out to be quite expensive!
Currently, I am getting a 40 gallon tank with live rock (and all the needed materials).
I am currently finding out that I will not be able to keep a lot of fish in my tank.
My question is: Could I keep like 8 clownfish (of the same species) in the tank? And only clownfish, no other fish?
Also, do you have to take the fry out of the tank for them to hatch?
How many clownfish can I keep in the tank?
If the clownfish idea does not work, and ideas on stocking a 40 gallon tank?
TorontoFishLover

snakeblitz33

I'm sorry to disappoint you, but you can only keep two clowns in a small tank. Even if they are the same species, as they grow they will start to fight as they have sex differentiation. One will become female and the smaller ones will remain male - and then there may be another dominate female on the rise - which eventually causes aggression - and a lot of males together as adults won't work either - a bunch of males will typically render one dominate female. (Clownfish change sex as needed, they are all born male.)