couple of q's

hawk70

I know how everybody says that tap water is bad and i understand that. People suggest a ro/di unit for water or buy it from a store. My first question is can you use a regular britta that attaches to the kitchen sink? They clam to remove everything from the water.... is this an ok option? My second question is about test kits for water. I have a "freshwater master test kit" by aquarium pharmaceuticals,inc. It measures pH, ammonia, nitrite, GH (general hardness) and KH (carbonate hardness). My question is, can i use this on a salt water system? Are they the same tests? I didn't pay anything for the kit and I know that they can be pricey, sure would be nice if i could use it? Thanks for your time....

madd catt

No you cant i think the reagents are made differant and so is the color coding on the cards to get your result.

reefnut

britta filters I think just use carbon as a filter don't they?
I wouldn't trust them. Distilled water in the store isn't that expensive if you don't want a RO/DI filter.

michaeltx

britta filters make the water tast better but doesnt actually remove all that much of the crud that we try to eleminate.
and test kits are specific. if it says SW thats all it will work on and vica versa.
Mike

C

cowbuoy

actually - if you look at the package for the filters you will notice that the brita and pur PITCHERS only help smell and taste
But the Brita and Pur faucet attachments remove a lot of stuff, metals, etc
I do not use them so I dont know how good they will work
It Must be better than straight tap though
I get 5 gallon RO from the grocery store for $2
if I go direct to the water store (like they sell to offices, etc) I get it for $3
I sometimes pay a little more since I would guess they take better care of the filters etc at the water store
water is such a big business these days I would think that everyone who lives in a town of any size would have a water dealer nearby

S

sinner's girl