Couple questions.

cori

I'm an absolute beginner, and at this stage, I am trying to learn everything I can, before I make the leap to buying my aquarium. My copy of The Concientious Aquarist is en route to me, but I'm eager...so here are a couple questions I have..
1. I am planning to do live sand. Does that eliminate the use of an undergravel filter? Being a freshwater aquarist, I've always been told the undergravel is almost a must.
2. RO water..I'm thinking that I won't be able to buy a big expensive system right off the bat. Now, I know this is a stupid question...but is the RO water you can buy by the gallon at the grocery store suitable for tank use? I know tap water is a big no-no..(and I don't think I would use that anyway, since it's awful here)
3. What are your thoughts about picking up some of the required equipment from places like ----? I live in a small town area..and none of them are really equipped with saltwater tank supplies, and what is available has a big mark up in price.
Thanks for the help.

T

thomas712

Originally Posted by cori
I'm an absolute beginner, and at this stage, I am trying to learn everything I can, before I make the leap to buying my aquarium. My copy of The Concientious Aquarist is en route to me, but I'm eager...so here are a couple questions I have..
1. I am planning to do live sand. Does that eliminate the use of an undergravel filter? Being a freshwater aquarist, I've always been told the undergravel is almost a must.
2. RO water..I'm thinking that I won't be able to buy a big expensive system right off the bat. Now, I know this is a stupid question...but is the RO water you can buy by the gallon at the grocery store suitable for tank use? I know tap water is a big no-no..(and I don't think I would use that anyway, since it's awful here)