Covered with algae

wayneshine

Need suggestions; 125 reef that is being overtaken with green,clumpy, 1/2"to 1:+ length green hair? algae. Phosphate is below 1. Water temp 80-82. Been doing water changes always using ro/di/filtered water. SG 1.124. 2 cinnamon clowns, 1 coral beauty, 1 purple tang, 1 orange cardinal, 1 diamond goby, assorted blue and red leg crabs, 1 peppermint shrimp, different types of snails. Tank has been set up over 4 years. Changed lights bulbs .410 watts power compacts. Removed all coral and cleaned algae off with a brush and in three weeks it is back worse than before. Cut back on feeding to where fish act like they are starving. This is really driving me nuts as I have been doing salt for over 25 years now and never had anything like this. Any ideas will be looked into and appreciated.
Thanks

michaeltx

do a search for hair algae there are many many threads about it. its one of the WORST algaes to get in a reef tank.
Mike

wayneshine

Thank you, I checked on it today and got a few ideas, seems like I should check nitrates also. Thanks again Wayne

cgrant

I just went threw the same thing on my tank cause my anem decided to crawl into my modded mj1200 and it got shredd into the tank.
It took about a month before the hair started to die off.
Keep up with the water changes, run a phos ractor with media like phosban, beef up the clean up crew, mexican turbos work great. cut the lights in half.
Might look into a lawnmower blennie also...just dont give up and it will go away but like i mentioned it took about 4 weeks to get mine under control.

wayneshine

I will cut the lighting in half. I probably need to add the snails as I do not have near as many as recommended. Don't know if a lawnmower blenie would fight with my diamond goby? Thanks for the advice. I rechecked phospate and it is around 1.5 so I will add the phosban. Have a good weekend.
Wayne

am00re34