crashing reef ???

steve24

with spring and early summer i have been slacking on the tests for my tank.
i still do 10% WC every week. i have been battling hair algae for 5 months so my tank hasn`t been looking the best, but about a month ago my zoas weren`t opening the way they should (figured the hair algae was bothering them) then my shroom started shrivling up, frogspawn not opening and so on.
bluntly everything was looking like sh!t. just tested my water ...
temp ... 78.8
SG ... 1.025
Amm ... 0
trates ... 0
pH ... 8.1
Phos ... 0
Cal ... 350
Alk ... 9.6
please help, any thoughts, comments or cures

6 month old T5 bulbs also

mr_x

i'd say the only thing out of place is calcium. hair algae is not going to make a frogspawn close as far as i know, but a less than optimum calcium level might slow the growth of a creature that needs calcium to form it's skeleton.
i don't know about the zoos and mushrooms.

steve24

my reef has been up for 2 1/2 yrs now. i have used distilled water from day one...
this is what it USED to look like

and now i look at it and just wanna

mr_x

i'm sorry.
lets think deeper.
go with the basics-
lighting
flow
water quality
temp
what changes have happened?
what additives have you added/failed to add?

steve24

Originally Posted by Mr_X
http:///forum/post/2652498
i'm sorry.
lets think deeper.
go with the basics-
lighting
flow
water quality
temp
what changes have happened?
what additives have you added/failed to add?
lighting... aquatinics TX5 daylights cut back to 6 hrs a day (hair algae) actinics on 12 hrs
almost 2000 GPH maxi jet, koralia, rio...skimmer and emperior 400 bio wheel filter
haven`t changed or added anything
don`t add additives other then weekly WC ...

michaeltx

how old are your bulbs? I know as the spectrum shifts it goes to a point where it is better for aglae growth and not coral growth.
just noticed you said 6 months on the bulbs what are the makers of the bulbs?