Critique my plumbing....please

khilgers

Heres a diagram of the plumbing I plan to do for my 75 gallon w/ a 29 gallon sump/fuge. Let me know if there is anything else you would change or add. Also the overflow will be a Lifereef single (700 gph flow) and I still can't decide on what pump. Either the mag drive 9.5 or would I need the mag 12? I'm still new to sumps so I figure I have 7' of head and I added on 1' of head per "T" or 90 elbox. Let me know what you think and thanks in advance for helping the newbie :)

bang guy

I would have an additional valve on the overflow line to make maintenance a little easier.
I would also have the 'T' to the refugium be from the overflow (before the ball valve) instead of the return.

khilgers

Originally posted by Bang Guy
I would have an additional valve on the overflow line to make maintenance a little easier.
I would also have the 'T' to the refugium be from the overflow (before the ball valve) instead of the return.

The extra ball valve on the overflow makes sense to me for cleaning and what not, that way I can shut everything down. As for the "T" going to the fuge, what would the advantage of the fuge being fed by the overflow instead of the return pump?:help:

khilgers

But you still havn't answered why the fuge should be fed by the overflow instead of the return. That part just doesn't make sense to me....explain.

bang guy

Two reasons:
1st - More water flow in the display tank. You paid big bucks for the pump, get all you can from it. Water from the display is gravity fed and therefore the water flow is cheap.
2nd - Taking the water directly from the display increases the amount of detritus that will be trapped in the refugium. This means more critters can grow in the refugium.

khilgers

Thanks for the great advice. It really helped me out. I forgot to mention that I am using 1" PVC for the overflow and return lines. I looked into 1 1/2" but that just seemed a little too big. Do you think 1" will be fine?

squidd