Critter ID

rg

i was wondering what something may be. i was rinsing my filter today and their was 3 liitle worm like things, the biggest being about `1/4" dark in color many legs, almost looks like a centipede. THe other two are smaller pink in color but many legs as well, almost look alike. Does anyone know what these are?

benson

Get rid of them fast. They are probably juvinile flat worms or bristel worms. See the responses to the bristel worm question on Jan. 17 by sailfin. They can get very bad, very quickly.

rg

Thanks Benson, I did read those on Sailfin but do you have any ideas how to get them out without taking all the water out? I also would hate to kill off my live rock? I currently have 3 Anemones 3 clowns 3 Damsels and 4 cleaner shrimp and a Mandrine bottom feeder. Would you requmend any thing else I can put in there? I am new to this so any help would be great. What do those worms do any ways? I just looked up the Bristleworm in a book that I have and that does not look like what I have? I can not find a photo of the flat worm.
[This message has been edited by RG (edited 01-23-2000).]

ladd

Ok, I am new at this. I have not seen any of these worms. But, after reading everyone's concerns, I looked it up. According to this web site bristleworms are a good thing. So I guess I don't get it. It says you get it from high quality live rock or sand. I was thinking of putting some live sand in my tank. Now I don't know. I searched "Bristleworms" on this site it your interested.

rg

well the book I have says to avoid having it and I think the reason is their bristles can cause a painful rash if touched. They are scavengers. But yes I would like to see the site. Thanks

janice