curing live rock?

kelly shaw

how high should you let the nh3 get before you do a water change? i just started curing mine yesterday evening and the nh3 is already off the scale.

mopar9012

when curing live rock dont do water changes. add water though so the salinity doesnt get high but no water changes. its best to let it run its course it will go down when its fully cured. be patient curing live rock can take a long time, it took me about 5 weeks, but i had a lot of die off.

kelly shaw

ok, i have read on here that you shouldn't let it get too high. i even read that not to let it get above 1.0. but after starting to cure my first batch yesterday and the level is already off the scale today, i find that to be pretty hard.

mopar9012

well ive never read that but it could be true, im no expert. mine water levels when high too i just let it run its course and it went down eventually.

kelly shaw

do you change all of it, or just a 10-15%? here is another question? what would happen if i added purple up during the curing process to get a head start on the choroline growth? i haven't done it i was just wondering.

saltwater8

From the Drs.:
Curing process of live rock for the established display aquarium that already contains fish, corals, or any other marine animals.
Place the live rock in a new 30-gallon plastic garbage can. Consider adding bottom drains to the container to speed draining and water changes.
Completely cover the rock with freshly mixed saltwater, with a specific gravity of 1.021 - 1.025
Provide a heater and keep the water temperature near 80 degrees to speed die off.
Create constant water movement with a power head or air stone.
Keep the area dimly lit to prevent algae blooms.
Perform 100% water changes twice weekly.
Scrub the rock with a new nylon bristle brush or toothbrush between water changes to remove any white film or dead material.
Most rock will be fully cured in 1- 3 weeks, at which time it is safe to add to the display aquarium.