Cycling Process

b_slate

I started my first saltwater tank just 4 days ago. I bought 6 damsels to start the cycling process and introduced them to the tank today. I know that the next step is to watch the ammonia levels but I am not sure where I go from here...
Is it okay to add live rock during or after the cycle?

rickd

Originally Posted by b_slate
I started my first saltwater tank just 4 days ago. I bought 6 damsels to start the cycling process and introduced them to the tank today. I know that the next step is to watch the ammonia levels but I am not sure where I go from here...
Is it okay to add live rock during or after the cycle?

Yes
What do you have in the tank now 6 damsels and water?
What size tank?
You need to monitor Nitrates, nitrites, PH, SG, Temp, Calicium, Alk, and the list moves on im no pro but Read alot.

feixjai

i personally like puting in the live rock first but i dont think it matters. not just the ammonia but the nitrate, nitrite, ph, and sg

b_slate

It is a 55 gallon tank. I know I have a lot of questions, but this is my first tank. I have always had freshwater fish, and hell you can just pitch them in the water and go on with it!
Once amonia gets going, does is get broken down into Nitrites and then into Nitrates?
Are the Nitrates harmful to the fish?
What causes PH and Alkalinity to go up or down?
Can high Alkalinity be harmful to the fish?
I have been checking my SG and my Salinity and it seems to still be slowly going up... Should this be happening? It has been 4 days since adding the salt to the water.

clownme

As many of the pros on this site recommend, you should probably get a book that can help you.
They recommend the "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist": A Commonsense Handbook for Successful Saltwater Hobbyists by Robert M. Fenner
or
"The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide" by Michael S. Paletta
I would recommend a good book and a lot of patience and you should be successful

Best of Luck

clownme