Cycling with blue damsel in tank

grovetsly

I am a newbie at this and I went to my LFS and asked them how to cycle my tank and he suggested getting several blue damsels and put it in my tank and feed them once a day. He says that the tank will be cycled within 2 weeks. This was contrary to what i've read on here previously. My question is: What is the purpose of having damsels in the tank in the beginning? How will that help with the cycling?
Thanks!

renogaw

it won't help too much, and will extend the cycling because the waste they produce isn't going to be enough to feed the bacteria to reproduction numbers for a while.
i hope you didn't take this advise btw...

m0nk

IMO, this is a cruel, and unnecessary way to cycle a tank. The purpose is the same, with the same end result; the cycle gets completed and beneficial bacteria builds up to aid in biological filtration. The process is cruel to the fish because the ammonia buildup burns the gills of the fish, and although damsels are hearty and will likely survive, there is no way to ensure that the burned gills won't lessen their lifespan, or that lifespan isn't of lesser quality. Another piece of advice they didn't give you is to always use your own test kits and test for ammonia and nitrite during the cycle.