Did my tank cycle already? (and I missed it! )

dennish

I set up my 46gal marine tank 16 days ago, added 3 damsels 14 days ago, and 14lb live rock and 3 crabs 12 days ago. I have been testing Ammonia and nitrites every 2-4 days with no discernable (i.e. 0) levels, today I thought I would also check the nitrates since it has been so long, and they showed up at 5. From all I've read the nitrates are the last to go up, so I didn't bother checking them until I saw the spike and fall of the Ammonia and Nitrites respectively. Can they rise and fall that fast that I could have missed them? I'm new to this, but it seems that with 3 fish, 3 inverts, plus the live rock and whatever is in there- I should be seeing SOME ammonia by now. I set up the tank for a Porcupine Puffer and maybe a Clown Trigger, but I don’t want to start adding my "real" fish until the tank is ready. I would sure appreciate the opinion of those of you who have "been there and done that".
Thanks.
Oh, also the SG is a little low today at 1.020+, should I raise it, how slowly?
[This message has been edited by DennisH (edited 04-25-2000).]

porkypuffer

A PORCUPINE PUFFER AND CLOWN TRIGGER WILL CONCIDER THE DAMSELS AND CRABS LUNCH. IT'S A LITTLE ODD THAT YOU COULD HAVE MISSED THE CYCLE. I'D WAIT A WEEK OR TWO. I WOULDN'T WORRY ABOUT THE SALINITY, MY LFS KEEPS THEIR'S AT 1.017, 1.020 SOUNDS FINE TO ME. SALINITY IS ONE THING THAT NEARLY EVERYONE IN THIS HOBBY HAS A DIFFERENT OPINION ABOUT, THE MAIN THING IS TO KEEP IT CONSTANT, ALTHOUGH, IF KEPT TOO LOW WILL KILL LIVE ROCK, CORALS AND INVERTS. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR NEW TANK. ONE LAST THING, A 46 GAL. TANK MAY BE A LITTLE SMALL FOR A PUFFER AND CLOWN TRIGGER ONCE THEY GROW. GOOD EXCUSE TO UPGRADE LATER.

mainejo1