duh...could I be a bigger idiot?

wonderwit

Hello All
I'm new to saltwater aquariums (though not new to FW aquariums). Over the past decade, I've gotten a couple of degrees in marine biology (MS highest level) and have taken years of abuse from my family for always having freshwater tanks. After getting away from the family (by moving ~3000 miles from CA to Maine) they've decided to hunt me down and will be here next tuesday. I've raised (and killed) many different marine species for work, but always in a flow through system (water comes in from ocean directly) and so basically was pretty clueless when I decided (about 4 weeks ago) on all that was required for a tank at home. :notsure: Went to the LFS and spent ~$900 for set up, buying all that the guy told me to buy (boy, did he see me coming), and one $4 damsel fish. For my 30 gallon tank, he hooked me up with 50 lbs of dolomite and one ~2 lb live rock. Then I found this website, and now am fully aware of what a bone-head I've been (just goes to show ya that having an education can be pretty useless at times). I've added an addition 36 lbs of live rock, and my live sand will be coming on wednesday. I would REALLY like to have some fish in there before my family comes...will the live sand have to cycle as long as the rock did? I plan on getting (among other things) a bubble tip anemone to go along with the clownfish, but don't think I have enough light (LFS sold me a single bulb, Reef Sun 50/50 6500K trichromatic and actinic 420...is this sufficient? Also, could you recommend some corals?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

g13

I'm no expert but if you want to get lighting for a anemone. I would suggest going with metal halide lighting and if you decide to go that route I would suggest going with HQI system that uses double ended bulbs (gives more lighting power).