Feeding a Frogspan

dallassvt

Hello!!
I have been spot feeding my corals about 3 times a week and have noticed that everything eats except my Frogspawn. I feed during the day and can see the mysis stuck to the frogspawn but it never really eats it just slowly releases the food back into the water.......

Any Ideas??

jtrzerocool

Originally Posted by paintballer768
http:///forum/post/2686767
Im no expert but I believe frogspawn use sweeper tentacles at night, and those are the ones designed to catch food.
frogspawns close up at night...therefore they have no sweeper tenticles at night...thats why most try and feed in the day...

hops523

same thing happend to me awhile ago.just squirt some mysis shrimp with a turkey baster closer to its mouth,but not too hard because then he will close up.after awhile he will be waiting to get food and you wont have to squirt it so close to the mouth.but some days they just wont eat,and thats ok

mkzimms

no, they can just live off of sufficient lighting and whatever happens to float by in the water column.

hops523

they dont need to be spot fed to survive.they just like to be fed,and it helps them grow faster.what were you thinking of feeding?

dallassvt

Thanks Everyone!! I will just give him a little mysis every now and then, if he eats it great if not its "light and Ca!"

b_clark711

Originally Posted by jtrzerocool
http:///forum/post/2687159
frogspawns close up at night...therefore they have no sweeper tenticles at night...thats why most try and feed in the day...
Seriously? Apparently you are misinformed because Frogspawn DO in fact have sweeper tentacles, and they normally extend in the evenings! Any site you look at will have it listed in the description! I.E.: Frogspawn Coral - Branched