filters,power heads,sumps?

catahoulas

I'm a newbie. 1st thread. i've had 2 freshwaters for 4 yrs and think i'm ready to take the plunge into salt. i've read, read, read again. i'm trying to calculate the $ for a 75g
1- glass or acrylic
2- drilled or not
3- filter- fluval?
4-power heads

5- WHAT IS A SUMP? do i need one?
i would like to have reef, lr, ls, fish, stars
can someone guide me.
lfs said - Damsels i know NOT to listen now i'm confused
Thanks a million :notsure:

seasalt101

welcome aboard glass easier to clean, acrylic lighter and 7 times as strong as glass way more expensive and scratches easy. how big a tank if you want corals suggest a sump(where you can put all your equipment out of sight) and a refugium or a combo sump/fuge basicaly smaller tank then your display where you can grow algae raise pods (bugs that are good for you tank) damsels are very aggressive am i missing any more of your questions? this is the best site on the i-net you can learn alot here and though i never have ordered anything from this site all feedback is very positive

seasalt101

drilled is for a reef tank and powerheads are good for water flow you need 10-14 times the rate as tank ie; 100 gal. tank needs 1000 to 1400 gph. and also do not use crushed coral and read thread at top of page 1st thing i wish i knew that covers alot of mistakes that can cost a bundle

catahoulas

Thanks a bunch. iIf I don't do corals do I have to still use a sump? I 've read ALL the thread on 1st p. I've been reading 4 4 days. What about filters? What's a the best.
I wont even go for lighting --- that is another day!!
Thanks again :cheer:

iluvreefs