Filtration on or off during feeding?

thedocta

Hey guys I am kinda new to reefing and think I finally got into a regular feeding pattern for my tank...Marine snow twice on weekends and once daily on weekdays, brine shrimp every other day. I am realizing that my skimmer (bak pak) and filter (HOT magnum canister) are filtering out a lot of the shrimp and the marine snow bottle says to turn off filtering and protein skimming for an hour after feeding. Is that right? What else should I shut my filtration off for? All advice is appreciated. Thanks-Greg

sweetreef

i shut mine off power heads etc for a half hour when iam use dt'sPhytoplankton every three days gives the corals time to eat...with powerheads and everthing else going on it all goes away to quick..

lion_crazz

If you are going to start dosing coral food like the marine snow and phytoplankton, I would shut off the skimmer and filter, but I would get yourself a cheap powerhead to keep in the tank or put into the tank when you turn these two things off so that at least the supplements move around in the water and your water does not fall stagnant for this time.

thedocta

Ok marinesnow says to leave a good amount of water flow on while feeding so I leave my 2 maxi jet 900's and my spray bar hooked up to a rio 600 on. Is that enough? Thanks-Greg

lion_crazz

Yes, but while you are converting your tank into a reef tank, I would consider upgrading your pump too if you still have it under warranty. Rio pumps are very problematic and are not very reliable. If there's one thing you want with a reef, it's stability, and if you do not have reliable products working inside it, it's very hard to be stable. That's just my opinion though, however, it's very well spoken about that Rio pumps usually cause nothing but problems.

lion_crazz