Fish suggestion anyone??

fiestyfish

Howdy,
This is my first time to this board, but I should have joined long ago. I have an easy question. I have a 30 gallon reef tank, and I am setting up a smaller 10 gallon salt water tank in my master bedroom. My question is, what kind of fish should I put in here? It is fish only, and I would like something that is fun to watch and feed. I was thinking along the lines of a lion fish, but think my tank is too small for that. Does anybody have any suggestions? Thanks for your time!!

matt dowdney

Oh yeah 10 gallons are very small for fish for salt water. Look into a cow fish, they are so cool, I just wish I could get one, but I have polyps in my tank. Cow fish are so interesting and they seem to hover around the tank. I can't express how neet it is to see one in person. As far as lions go, get a 55 then we can talk.

fiestyfish

A cow fish, that sounds really cool! I believe that I have seen one before, isn't it similar to a puffer? I am trying to look it up online, but I cannot fine it. Do you know what class of fish this is? I would like to read up on them.... Thanks again...

big dave

Matt- cowfish get around a foot long!!!! They are very hard to keep because when they get stressed out they release a toxin into the water which nukes the tank!!! Really, now more suitable fish would be maybe gobies, clownfish, or other small fish. What I would suggest is a neon goby, citron goby, and maybe a clownfish and that is close to overstocking! Maybe you could try a 6-line wrasse or a dwarf hawkfish they are both fish with tons of personality.

grouperhead

in a 10 gal, id do a six line wrasse, and maybe a small clown (skunk) and be done with it. 10 gals can be hard to maintain so b prepared to do alot of changes and maintanance on it. bo

fiestyfish