Fragmenting Mushromms . . .

little

After starting my tank, I came to the conclusion that I wanted to turn it into a reef and so I did. I picked up some polyps and mushrooms and have enjoyed them ever since. I learned from reading on this board that you can frag mushrooms so I decided to give it a try. So here it goes. This particular mushroom was a free floater that I received at the LFS with the ones on the rock I bought. I placed him on the bottom of my tank with little tiny rocks around him in hopes he would attach to one. He did and I moved him up next to the other rock. As this is my first time to frag a mushroom, it seemed fitting to use the free floater. The one to the far left.

little

The tools I will be using:
Dish to move mushroom to operation table
New razor blade that you would use in an mat knife
Scotch super glue gel: to glue mushroom to rock. I got this at Wal Fart for $1.50 or so. . .
Quick Count Plastic Canvas: this will go over the mushrooms to hold them in place in case the glue fails. I got this at Wal Fart for $.36 . . .
Rubber bands: hold plastic canvas in place
Paper towel: to dry off the spots on the rock I will be gluing

little

I use the razor blade and a little pulling to get him off the tiny rock he was on and now ready to cut him in half.
*slice*
He was tougher to cut through then I had imagined.

little

My plan was to cut him into 4 pieces, but after the first and only cut he seemed too small for me to cut again. I read that it is better to have larger frags than smaller ones. Being the first time for me to frag, I am going to play it safe.
:nervous:

little