Graphic Design Artist!!!!!!!!!

ray28576

Are there any graphic design artist out there. I am planning on finishing my degree in acounting and plan to go back to school immediatly for graphic design. After I earn my degree there, I want to open my own graphic design business. My question is what are the tools and equipment I would need and about how much money to start the business? I'm going to research it myself, but would just like a little bit of a head start. Any help is appreciated.

damselz

Hi,
I am a graphic designer. I have a web design/graphic design business. First off obviously you need a computer. Get something powerful because design software can be hell on a slower processor. If you can, get a MAC powerbook (G4 or G5). Best computer for graphic design is a MAC. Get Adobe PhotoShop, Illustrator, Indesign, Acrobat, and the Macromedia design suite. It's a hard business to get into considering there is a lot of competition and cut throats out there that will do the work for next to nothing. Advertising is the key and you need to reach business owners mainly. The biggest problem with this field is that unless you have 5 years of experience most companies will pay very poorly so starting your own business will help you get experience. I like what I do so it's worth the struggle. Check out my website, it is mainly web design.
Good luck!!

ray28576

What types of printers ad things would I need? Also, what different types of products do you offer? Business cards, brochures, logos, etc. Will you post a link to your website? Thanks.

whitey_028