Hello to Everyone

kissiefish

Hi Everyone,
Just wanted to introduce myself, I am new to the hobby and have started my tank. I have referenced this board for alot for some great information. I have had my tank, which is a 55g filtering for about a week now I put my first inhabitants in it yesterday. I started my cycle with 4 blue chromis I was told at my lfs that they would start my cycle just fine. I have an undergravel filter, as well as another filter (I don't know the brand, it was given to me =) Thanks you know who you are). I will be setting up the HOT magnum pro system as soon as I recieve it. The temp in my tank is about 78. I have a Marine Glo light on it which made the tank look cool with out even having fish in it LOL. And I also have Life Glo bulb on it. My SG lvl is 1.021. I took my first readings tonight PH was at 8.0, Nitrate were at less than 10, Nitrite was at 0.22 and Amonia was at 0.8. I started a spreadsheet to keep track of my lvls through my cycle. Its been a day and I am loving just sitting and watching my 4 little fish go about there business. I know its not much but I think this is the start of much cooler things to come.
If anyone can give me some feed back on my levels it would be much appreciated. I am not sure what to make of these just yet. I also bought a PH buffer just incase I needed it and it says that it should be added once every two weeks to keep the PH at the right level. Does anyone do this?
I look forward to hearing from you all
~Kissiefish~ :D

T

thomas712

Welcome to the board :D
Sounds like you ammonia is on its way down now and it will be up with the nitrItes, this will last longer and then decline until you get only some nitrAtes. Sound good so far.
However, I would like to ask if this will be a fish only, FOWLER or Reef system.
I'll be the first here to say that I would remove the undergravel filter altogether, I'm sure many people are tired of my standard talk about them but here it is.