Help,, 1st time with any disease??

gupsterwantabe

Hello, 1st this is my first time to this message board,, I usually go to the fish only message board but think I have disease...
I have a 75 gallon tank... been set up since March. I have some live rock, a peppermint shrimp, two damsels, a clown fish, a yellow tank, and a bat fish...
I know a bat fish in a 75 gallon tank,,, too small, once he grows we will have to put him in his own tank,,for now he is only about 5 inches big,,,,
Well, yesterday doing a water changes I noticed the bat fish had this weird white spot on his side,, it was notlittle white spots but looked like a patch of white dust,,, he is brown and the spot looked like he rubbed against something.. His eyes were also cloudy,, no other fish had any symptoms,,
I started reading the books I have on salt water aquariums, disease etc,,, and I noticed they said to try the freshwater bath.. so I did that for 2 minutes,, Well, after the two minutes in the fresh water the white on the bat fish , formed into what looked like salt minerals and literally started popping off his body...
I then had to put him back into the tank with the other fish as I do not have a hospital tank,,,
Now the questions please and help!!!!!!!
1) What is this? Ick? or no?
2) What should I do? I was going to take him to the local store and show him to the manager to see what he says he has.
3) Should I try garlic??
thank you sooo much

charmin_fatcat

Well, I am fairly new to this also. My boyfriend is the saltwater person in our house, but I am getting to know my way around fairly well. Doing research and reading this board definately helps!! Anyways my two cents are: Go and get a hospital tank NOW!!! You should have had one set up incase of an emergency like this anyways, besides for quarenteening purposes. It sounds like ick to me, but as a newbie I am unsure, let the other more experienced members help you with that.