*Help* I am just getting started and I think I am getting led in the wrong direction.

mmync

I am starting my first saltwater tank and I had some local fish guy set it up for me but I have a feeling that I need additional equipment and advice. My tank is about a 180 G. and it is going to be fish only or fish and live rock. This guy has a really great reputation around here but for some reason I think you guys will have a different opinion on some things. He said I dont need a protien skimmer, heater, power head or live sand. Yes I am a newbie to this hobby but for some reason I am getting the feeling that he is giving me bad advice and that I really should have all of these things. Please let me know what you guys think I should do and would really appreciate if you guys can even give me brand names and places to buy these things. Thank you very much in advance and sorry for questions that you guys have probably been asked a million times.:confused:

mmync

Well he says that the reason he reccomends not using a heater is because he sees to many fish being fried as a result of heaters being stuck on and the water gettin gto hot. And he says that as long as I always keep my house around 72 degrees that is what my tank will stay at. And as har as power heads I have 2 black tubes coming off the box at the top of my tank and it looks like they push some good water but I think they are just run off the rio 2100 pump because I know I dont have a power head. He said that I dont need live sand because it a fish only tank and not a reef tank.

T

thomas712

Wow!:eek: No heater, come on we know what Michigan winters are like ;) . I have 2 heaters on my 90. Look up the Won Pro heat. Great heater that you can set temp on the part that plugs into your outlet and not mess with the little knob you find on most at the top of the heater itself.
Do you really need a protein skimmer, NO