Help....I'm buying a tank already set up......

borgatagal

:thinking: I'm buying a tank already set up from someone on ----. The drive is about an hour from my house.
Questions for some experts----
For transport and the ability to carry the tank full of water,,,, should I take out half the water and keep it in someway in the truck or replace it with new water when I get home?
Any advice on transportation? The owner states he has only a couple of fish in the tank, I have not seen the tank but the pictures seem like I got a really good deal.
44 hexagon, stand, filters, a qt tank, accessories, etc... for $300. Tank is 2 yrs old.
Should I put the fish in the qt tank for transport?? Any and all advice is so much appreciated on how to get my new 'baby' home.
I am new to this venture and I love reading all the posts, while taking notes for my soon to be 'adoption.'
Thanks you folks are super!!!!!!!!! :cheer:

badoleross

OK, if you really want to transport the water I suggest you get a couple rubbermaid container or better yet if you are using a truck for the transport a 44 gallon Brute trashcan. All of the water can go in there. You do want to try to move the tank with water in it. You really dont gain anything by keeping te old water unless you just want to use it to start a QT. There is very little actual bactieria in the water itself. As for the sand, scoop it out and toss it in a bucket. I would rinse it throughly before reusing it but I guess the bacteria in the sand will jump start your cycle. You didnt mention live rock so I assue there isnt any. If there is it can go in the trashcan as well. Any water loss will be a water change when you get home. Once home, rinse the sand IMO and add it to the tank, refill the tank with saltwater and start the cycle. As for the fish, I'd stick them in a bag in a bucket and tie off the top with an air pocket. I just moved a 220, went very smooth.

ktsdad

One more thought on this......