help me build a tank!

reavely

I would like to build a 75 gallon tank. So far I have a few inhabitants in mind, but am not knowledgeable about what kind of hardware (except for the fluval 404 filter I'm bidding on) I should be getting or are even necessary; like heaters, air flow, wave-powerhead, protein skimmers?? etc.. or what kind of substrates, rocks & crustaceans I should or could go with.
The primary inhabitants I'm dreaming of would be; ocellaris clowns, condy or long anemone, Coral - undecided?, Blue tangs, catalina gobies, blue-green damsels...
what others (corals, crustaceans, or inverts) might go well with this combo?
Is this a feasible combo?
How many of each would be healthy for a tank this size?
I have been keeping a 40 gal cichlid tank for several years but need all the input I can get to get a good marine tank going, HELP!

justinx

Welcome to the board!! My first piece of advice is to get a good reef book. I started out with reading Natuarl Reef Aquariums by Tullock. It is agood beginner book that goes through all the steps of setting up, stocking and maintaing a reef tank. I followed his methods a little loosely and this is what i have created. Also, read on this board. I researched the posts on the message board for six months before i even bought a tank. That was a little long, but i was moving soon when i wanted to do it, so i just decided to wait until after the move to set up my new tank, and boy was i glad. I saved at least 500 dollars just from doing research. Best of luck to you and welcome once again. Feel free to ask any questions you may have, and the search tool on this board is fantastic. I can almost promise that someone else will have had the same questions you do somewhere in the past. So get a book, do some reading, do some searching, and the best piece of advice that i have to offer is take things SLOOOOWW. You will be rewarded in the end with this hobby if you take your time.

ophiura