Help! Newbie Tank Setup Questions

jrx7

OK please be gentle I'm new to marine tanks. I've been keeping freshwater tanks for quite a while and feel that I'm ready to take the plunge into the saltwater world, but I have so many questions I don't know where to start. I read the tank setup FAQ over in the Hobbyist Info section of this site and I printed out a list of items that I think I need. I took the list down to my local fish store and talked to one of their "experts" about what I really need. Of course all he wanted to do was sell me everything in the damn store. When we were all said and done the bill was $1700! :eek: And that's just equitpment I already have a tank and stand. So I told him I'd do some more research and come back later.
OK now on to my questions:
I have a 55 gallon tank and stand with a single tube flourescent hood. I originally was going to go with a reef setup, but realized that it would be too much for a first timer. Out of the list below, what exactly do I need to get started:
Filter - Fluval 404?
Protein Skimmer - ?
UV Filter - ?
Power Heads - ?
Heater - 200W?
Test Kit - ?
Hydrometer - ?
Thermometer - ?
Sand - ?
Salt - ?
I'd like to get the bare minimum to start and then once the tank is cycled start to add on the rest. I know a Protein Skimmer is important, but what kind is the best for me? The guy at the store wanted to sell me a "Quad 1 Vent" which needed a Mag 4 water pump. Wouldn't a simple airstone style skimmer be enough? Also wouldn't it be bad to have the protein skimmer setup during the intial cycling? What about the Power Heads? I know that good water flow is important, but how much is too much for a 55 gallon tank? Do they need a water pump too? And the UV sterlizer just seemed like overkill also.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

ozzfan84