HELP! PLease, ignorance is no longer bliss

pharoahsghost

Hello all,
1st. I have started a saltwater with live rock only ( reef I guess). 55 gal 1- mag 350, 4-300galpm powerheads, protein skimmer, 1- AC 110 as sump for magroves and a small HOB for when ever I need some extra filtration nothing in it at this time just water running. I have T5 lights 1 atinic 5 10k, I believe its time to change them and pray thats the problem. Any way M corralline algae is turning white Im dying inside. I have cyanobacteria but I think I've been beating it. Nothing fancy yet becuase I want to get the water right first but, several feather duster rocks as well as a few mushrooms and all kinds of life growing.
Mistake 1 not reading before starting, Im an african cichlid hobbyist and was trying something different.
Mistake 2 going with my gut ignorance is bliss it all started out great coralline growing, mushrooms, you name it coming out of the rock.
mistake 3 asking lfs what next?, so I did it bought a hatian pink tip, some crabs, and snails all dead except 2 snails and 1 scarlet hermit.
Now 8 months later coralline algae turning white last of snail slowing in movement mushrooms not fully expanding.
So what do I do (change light bulbs) No, I start using 2 part solutions to fix and no results; Oh did I mention Ive done 2 water changes in 8 months and top off with faucet water every two weeks.
I ready for the insults and if you give one at least have the compassion to give me some wisdom thanks
Buying all brand neww lighting and doing water change in 1 week, Im a firefighter with a part time job so time is a factor.
Im teachable now crisis seems to do that to me.
Thanks again
Pharoahsghost

lexluethar

Parameters will be key - test for Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, PH, Salinity (use a refractometer), alkinity, calcium, copper.