help with first tank- what to buy!

boneyfish

Hi all, I've been lingering around this forum for about 8 months now and I must say that you are all extremely helpful. I currently have a 5 gallon sw tank and like the rest of you, I have the bug. Now I know that this is an extremely expensive hobby, so this is where all of your experience comes in. The question I pose to you is this: If you had to create another sw tank under a limited budget, what size tank (between 30-40 gallons please) and componets would you buy and list the specific brand and cost of each of the componant. My interests are fish with maybe some lr. I'd like to keep it as inexpensive as possible say $500 if possible. I do understand that this may or may not be a realistic price, but since I have no idea what everything will cost I just picked a number. I got this idea from a computer website where they would list specific components and price to build a computer for say under $1000. I'm also looking at the all-in-one setups like the Eclipse or the Jebo. Any thoughts on those? Thank you all in advance

brownleaf

WELCOME!
If it's a FO tank, $500 or less will get you something good. But if you want Reef, than it will more than likely double the price.
You can search for used stuff for better price.

birdy

tank- for a 40gal around $60-$75
Lighting- $75 for double bulb standard NO lights
Sand- $5.00 for southdown from Home Depot, more if you cannot get southdown.
Rock- base rock, around $2 a lb, get 30lbs
Live rock- around $5 lb, get 20lbs
Protein Skimmer- CPR HOB $100 new, less if you can buy used (they are all over the place used)
Power heads- 2 maxijet 600's $15 each
Heater- around $20
You will also need misc. supplies like test kits, a good hydrometer or refractometer, and other stuff like that. but you get the basic idea.

viper_930