high natrate all the time with out algone help

dav9175

[hr]
i do 5% water changes once weekley in a 90g aquarium change filters everything clean. the nitrates just keep rising if i dont use algone. i would like to try to ween away from using it so i can have more$$$$ to spend on live stock. HELP!!!!! on this setup i have two 55g marineland filters, 100g back pak p-skimmer, two maxi jet 1200 power heads and 175lbs of live rock that looks like its had better days. i have plenty of experience but i guess i must have amnesia.

prk543

try picking up some Cheato, and try increasing the size and frequency of your water changes until your nitrates drop. Try doing 20% water changes twice a week, and see how that affects your levels.
What are your levels curently?
Prk543

dav9175

i have cheto in my skimmer to try and act like a mini refugium and i use algone i dont know if you know what it is but it removes nitrate and algae green water you name it it removes it but i just want it to be stable without it they are currently at 80ppm no dead fish but corals are almost gone

dav9175

i made my protein skimmer into a refugium with sand and live rock and cheato i keep it clean and i have pleanty of circulation im drawing blanks still plus i still have the 2 marineland canister filters with algone pads and filter pads which are changed routinely

2cold2fish

5% water changes is about 4 and half gallons for a 90 gallon tank. Try one or two large water changes to get nitrate levels down. Then go back to a weekly maintenance to maintain levels. Quit adding algone or whatever that is. Figure out what is causing the high nitrate levels. ie: overfeeding, dirty pumps and filters, bioballs, topoff water quality, salt mixture, crappy test kits just to name a few.
Chaeto in a skimmer? does it get any light?

prk543

I assume you use DI or RO water for your water changes?
What are your other paramiters?