HOB filter questions

salty cheese

I want to buy a HOB to run carbon and a phosphate sponge(incase of an emergency) but I have no experience with this type of filter. So please help me decide which one to buy.
Are there any differances between certain filters besides the price?
My tank is 46 gal.
Thanks S.C.

dskidmore

Are you going to just throw out the media that comes with the filter and run the carbon instead, or are you going to use the filter's filtering function?
If you're not using the filter itself, you only need to look at the GPH rating and the size of the box you have to put media in.
If you didn't already have a sutible heating arrangement, you could consider spending the extra for one of those filters with an integrated heater.
If you are going to use it as a regular filter, look at the kind of media it uses, and the ongoing cost of replacement. My freshwater tank uses a filter with reusable sponges, I switched from one that had those poly filter bags that never rinse cleanly and have to be replaced regularly.

squidd

The Magnum 250 HOB is "the" unit for hang on "chemical" filtration...
Get the reusable/refillable "carbon/media" container and its a piece of cake...
I like the Magnum 350 "under tank" model with the cartridge...
I set it up with two 6' hoses and can carry it around from tank to tank like a "shop vac"...For running carbon or even "filter floss" for vacuuming out the bottom of the sump...:yes:
Ever try to get a siphon going when your sump is "under tank" and almost floor level...:thinking:
And it has a nice little "carrying" handle on it...

salty cheese

DSkid, Yes that is all I want to do. How many GPH do I need for it to be effective?
Squid, sorry about not giving you enough info, I have 75# of lr 3-4" sand bed and a Euro-Reef ES5-3 for filtration. I was just looking to polish the water once and awhile and to prepare for (I hope the day will never come) an emergency.
Thanks again.

salty cheese

Originally posted by FLATZBOY