How many Angelfish

scotts2002

Are Angelfish like Tangs?
Can you have more than two large Angelfish in a 140 gallon tank with the aggression being spread out among the fish?
Also what about having one large Angel with a pygmy angel?

ithorian_r

I would not advise putting two large angels together in a 140g tank. I have read where you can sometimes keep two angels together within the same genus (pomacanthus for example) but an extremely large tank is needed. But this is just what ive read. I think you would be fine putting a large angel with a dwarf in a 140g. Im sure there are other people on this website who have done it before! just my 2cents....

carshark

I wouldnt think a dwarf and a large would be bad. The pigmy is pretty docile, i dont think you would run a risk any less than a large angel going after anything else in the tank. If the large is going to go after a fish, it could be anyone...but I have never done it before, but I cant imagine it would be a problem in a tank that size.....
However I would not put two large angels, or two dwarf angels together....thats a no no!
and angels can be more aggressive than tangs depending on species... If I were to put up a match between a Sohal Tang vs Emporer Angel, the sohal would absolutely whoop the Emporer, but at the same token putting a Blue regal vs Emporer, the emporer would definitely supercede the regal...just depends on what you want to put in there..

jon321

Ive heard that you can keep angelfish from DIFFERENT genus togther that also have as different a pattern as possible. For example: queen (Holacanthus) and french (Pomacanthus) or flame (Centropyge) and goldflake (Apolemichthys).
Jon

ithorian_r

hey jon, u are right. its different genus. its been awhile since i had read that and i went and double checked it and it is possible to keep large angels of a different genus. so yeah disregard what i said about keeping the same genus!

konrade