How many fish can I keep in a reef tank

jimreemts

I am new to saltwater, I do know in fresh water I can keep 1 inch of fish in 1 gallon of water. Is there such an equation for reef tanks? I would like to keep a healthy reef tank with fish but am concerned with a bioload.

brianokc

The 1" rule per gallon is totall crap. I mean think about it would you put a 10" Oscar in a 10 gallon tank? Or a couple 10 feet long sharks in a 250 gallon? Its a stupid rule fish stores came up with to sell more fish!

jimreemts

My tank is 100 gallon. I want a heathly balance of coral and fish. Is there a simple answer to this question for how mant fish I can keep?

grips

There really isn't a simple answer. It depends on the species of fish, how well your filtration system works, how often you do water changes, etc.. There are just too many factors to come to a definitive answer.
Do some research to find out how many fish other people are keeping in their 100 gallon tanks. Or just add your fish very slow; watch the fish and your filtration system. Go with your gut.... Most people know when they've reached the limit. It's usually an impulse buy that gets you. They are hard to resist when you see that beautiful healthy fish smiling at you from behind the glass box saying "take me home! I'm gonna impress everyone that looks into your tank. They're all gonna love me." :happyfish

grips

HA HA! yeah, that's been a problem for me too. There are just too many varieties of fish out there to choose from. I want one of each.

Put in a large sump and a big refugium. This will increase your water volume and filtration capabilities.
Buy the nicest, biggest protein skimmer you can afford and make sure you have more Live rock than you need. Doing these two things will increase your filtration and in turn allow you to have a larger bio load (more fish).