How to cycle your tank

reefer man

Im new to this but, how do you cycle your tank? I understand some of it but all of this is new to me. By the way i hope to get a tank within a few weeks.

magickyl

First add your saltwater, then add the substrate ( may take a few days for the tank to clear) , add your LR. Drop a dead shrimp into the tank ( this will start the cycle). You will get a spike of ammonia and you know the cycle has started.
You could use a damsel to cycle the tank, but this is cruel IMO. Let your filters and powerheads run and check your levels every couple of days to see where you are in the cycle.
When you have the tank cycled you are ready to add your clean up crew. I would wait 2-3 weeks before adding any livestock.... But remember. Go slow. Add 1 fish at a time and wait 2-3 weeks to add another fish. Good luck and welcome to the hobby.

newfishguy

Do you really need to add a dead shrimp? Explain exactly what you mean by a dead shrimp. A piece of shrimp from the store?? I thought just by adding rock and sand that would be good enough to start the cycle. So, after the tank cycles add a cleanup crew and them wait two weeks to add any fish?
Originally Posted by magickyl
First add your saltwater, then add the substrate ( may take a few days for the tank to clear) , add your LR. Drop a dead shrimp into the tank ( this will start the cycle). You will get a spike of ammonia and you know the cycle has started.
You could use a damsel to cycle the tank, but this is cruel IMO. Let your filters and powerheads run and check your levels every couple of days to see where you are in the cycle.
When you have the tank cycled you are ready to add your clean up crew. I would wait 2-3 weeks before adding any livestock.... But remember. Go slow. Add 1 fish at a time and wait 2-3 weeks to add another fish. Good luck and welcome to the hobby.

rivrat